AMERICA’S DAUGHTER

Posted: April 29, 2021

MY REVIEW

I am a huge fan of Celeste De Blasis.  I’ve read many novels by this author and I must say that she never disappoints.  Celeste De Blasis never wastes time pulling you into her stories, and this book is no different.

Addie believes in the Patriot’s cause and she and her twin brother witness the Boston Tea Party.  Addie keeps her beliefs to herself because not everyone in her family believes as she does.  Addie’s father, Marcus Valencourt is a loyalist, and has raised his five children to be independent thinkers.  When the British seize Boston, Addie decides it’s time for her to speak up and stand her ground about her beliefs.  So Addie admits to her father that she and her brothers believe in the Patriot’s cause.  Of course that causes tension in the family.  But, when Addie’s brothers and Silas, the man she loves, go off to fight in the war, Addie finds herself torn between her family and the men fighting for America, the country she loves. I’m so glad this is the first book in the series as I can’t wait to continue this great story.

The characters and historical aspects of the story were well written and made the book very interesting and enjoyable to read.  I really liked this book and I recommend it.

Rating: 4 out of 5.


ABOUT THE BOOK


AMERICA’S DAUGHTERAMERICA’S DAUGHTER
Author: Celeste de Blasis
Published by Bookouture
Publication Date: April 27, 2021
Pages: 230
Buy on Amazon
Buy on Apple

With Washington’s army, she joined America’s fight for independence…

1773. The night that Addie Valencourt sneaks out to witness the Boston Tea Party, she knows that her world is about to change forever. Soon, the love and security of her tight-knit family is torn apart by the fight for American independence.

When the British lay siege to Boston, Addie’s English-born father welcomes them into his home, while her childhood sweetheart Silas leaves to join General Washington. Addie is determined to follow him when she meets Scottish Highlander John Traverne. The frowning, dark-haired soldier is unlike anyone she has ever known, and he interests her more than he should. But any future with a man on the opposite side of this fight is impossible…

As the bitter war continues, Addie’s life becomes increasingly bound with the fate of America. When Silas is captured by the British, she risks all to search for him, but venturing into enemy territory brings her face to face with her Highlander again. Now Addie must make an impossible choice between what her heart is telling her, and protecting the secrets—and even the very lives—of the Patriots on the dangerous front line…

The first part of an epic, emotional and heartbreaking trilogy about a woman caught in the struggle for a new America. Readers who love My Dear Hamilton and Flight of the Sparrow will be swept away by America’s Daughter.

About Celeste de Blasis

Millions of readers have fallen under the spell of the lush, enthralling and bestselling novels by Celeste De Blasis. Tales of adventure and romance set against the sweep of history—all are storytelling at its finest. After graduating from Pomona College, Celeste devoted her life to impeccable research and spellbinding writing. A native Californian, Celeste grew up on the historic Kemper Campbell Ranch in the Mojave Desert, where she lived until her death in 2001.