THE ORPHAN’S ISLAND

Posted December 2, 2020

MY REVIEW

This is the first novel I have read by this author, and let me tell you she did not disappoint. I love it when an author can bring characters to life and make you feel like they are a part of your circle of friends, and Kate Hewitt does exactly that.

In the early 1900’s, Ellen moves with her family from Glasgow Scotland to America. Shortly after arriving in America, her father disappears. Her Aunt and Uncle take her in and she befriends the two brothers that live next door. As the story progresses, Ellen is learning to navigate life in America and is trying to find where she fits in. Ellen continually overcomes the trials and tribulations that life throws at her. The historical aspect of the story is phenomenal, it is a much slower and simpler time setting in 1904. I like the character of Ellen as she is very humble, smarter then she realizes, she is very brave and a talented artist. She is very level headed and is hopeful of her future. The author has such talent for making you feel like you are going through Ellen’s life right beside her. The descriptions of the landscape and the island are so real, that it will make you want to go visit.

This inspirational historical fiction is a must read. I gave this book five stars and I can’t wait to read the next two books in this series. I will definitely read more from this author.

Rating: 5 out of 5.


ABOUT THE BOOK

1904: Ellen Copley is still a child when she leaves behind the sooty rail yards of Glasgow, and crosses the Atlantic Ocean with a heart full of dreams. Yet within weeks of their arrival in America, her father has disappeared—leaving Ellen with resentful relatives, feeling alone and scared for her future.

But then her kind Aunt Rose invites Ellen to stay with her large family, in their rambling house on beautiful Amherst Island, which nestles like a jewel in the blue waters of Lake Ontario.

There Ellen finally begins to find the love and acceptance she has long been craving—both from Aunt Rose’s boisterous family, and from the boys next door, Jed and Lucas Lyman. It’s Jed she’s drawn to… the one with the twinkling eyes, who teases her, and laughs with her, and soon steals her heart…

But does Jed love her back? Because—even though Amherst Island feels like home—Ellen knows she can’t stay there with a broken heart…

This is the first book in the unmissable Amherst Island Trilogy that follows the life and love of Ellen Copley from the magic of Lake Ontario to the bloody battlefields of the First World War and beyond. Perfect for fans of The Oceans Between UsThe Orphan Sisters, and My Name is Eva.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Kate Hewitt is the bestselling author of many novels of women’s fiction, including the Hartley-by-the-Sea series set in the Lake District, the Willoughby Close series set in the Cotswolds, and Tales From Goswell written as Katharine Swartz. Her novel A Mother’s Goodbye has been called ‘unputdownable’ and ‘the most emotional book I have ever read’ by readers. Her latest novel, Not My Daughter, is out now, and No Time to Say Goodbye is available for preorder.

She lives in a small market town in Wales with her husband and five young(ish) children, along with their two Golden Retrievers. Join her newsletter for monthly updates and giveaways at www.kate-hewitt.com, or be part of her Facebook groups Kate’s Reads.